Skip to Main Content
Snow
...

A-Z Databases

Alphabets Find by Title

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Video available
Audio available
Open Access
Accessibility info link
TexShare resource
GLAM resource

Industry Research

 NAICS & SIC

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) are the industry classification codes in the United States. The codes categorize industries by their business activities. Knowing the codes will help you find reports, articles, and other information on industries.

Note: Some companies have multiple codes because of their various business activities, and some resources only give the company’s primary industry code, which represents the line of business for which the company makes the most income.

For further reading on NACS and SIC, you can go to the national NAICS and SIC code websites.

NAICS & SIC Codes

To access industry codes:

  • go to the Library page
  • click on "Databases" under the basic search box". It will take you to the A-Z Databases list
  • click on "B", and scroll down to "Business Source Ultimate"
  • click on the "Company Information" link in the blue banner near the top
  • type the name of the company in the search box, hit the "Search" bottom, scroll down the result screen, and then click on " Industry"

Example: Walmart Inc. industry codes

 

Business Source Ultimate 

Industry codes of Walmart through Business Source Ultimate

A company's code through Business Source Ultimate

Note: Business Source Ultimate provides a list of NAICS in SIC Code order.

To find industry codes: 

  • go to the Library page
  • click on "Databases" under the basic search box". It will take you to the A-Z Databases list
  • click on "N", and scroll down to "Nexis Uni"
  • drop down the menu to the right of "Nexis Uni" on the top left of the homepage. Click on the "Company Dossier" link. when the new window opens, enter the company name in the appropriate box, and click on the red "search" box
  • look in the information under "Snapshot" for the primary NAICS and SIC codes

Example: Amazon.com Inc. industry codes

 

Nexis Uni homepage company dossier

Nexis Uni searching for Company Dossier

Company snapshot for codes

 

To find industry codes for particular companies: 

  • go to the Library page
  • click on "Databases" under the basic search box" It will take you to the A-Z Databases list
  • click on "M", and scroll down to "Mergent Online"
  • type the name of the company in the search box

Example: Amazon.com Inc. industry codes

 

Mergent Online homepage

  • View the company profile to see the SIC and NAICS codes assigned by this database under "Company Details"

 

Codes in Company details in Mergent Online

Note: You can also go to " Use code lookup" on Mergent Online homepage to look for the list of companies with their codes in particular industries

 

Mergent online SIC & NACS codes