Nursing Research Resources

The starting place for Nursing students to get more information about essential resources.

Statistical Resources

Finding relevant health statistics and data can be challenging. Use these resources to find publicly available health information and statistics from state, federal and international agencies and organizations on a wide variety of health topics.

Data included in these resources include:

vital statistics
mortality
disease incidence and distribution
data on health care costs, utilization and services

The National Library of Medicine has an online, self-guided course in finding health statistics, Finding and Using Health Statistics. The course will help you gain a basic knowledge of health statistics measures and how they are used, understand statistical terms commonly used, how health information can be collected, and how to find specific health statistics.

Note: All links on this page open in a new window.

SageData This link opens in a new window
SageData provides immediate access to statistical datasets from many different private and public sources. The datasets cover many different subject areas. SageData also helps users create charts, maps, graphs, and tables, with descriptive summaries and citations.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

2020 Census Results
The 2020 Census provides a wealth of information, with a major section on Health topics that includes data, working papers, reports, videos, and visualizations. Subtopics include Disability, Fertility, Health Insurance, and others.
Census State Data Centers

Health Care Cost and Utilization Project
"An online statistical tool created as part of the Health Care Cost and Utilization Project, an initiative of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR). HCUPnet allows users to generate customized statistical reports in order to identify, analyze, and track national data on "hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes."
Medicaid/Medicare Statistics
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
MMWR Weekly Reports
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports is a weekly listing of all deaths for 121 selected cities, as well as noticeable diseases for the nation. Includes annual survey.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS provides extensive data sets, statistics, and reports including the results of population and provider surveys, and vital records.
National Health Expenditure Data
Measures spending for health care in the U.S. by type of service delivered (hospital care, physician services, nursing home care, etc.) and source of funding for those services (private health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, out-of-pocket spending, etc.). Developed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (formerly the Health Care Financing Administration).
NIFA Data Gateway
This USDA Research Database contains the information on ongoing and recently completed projects sponsored or conducted primarily within the USDA and State university research systems. The database also includes projects on human nutrition and research of the Federal agencies.

Global Health Observatory Data Repository
from World Health Organization, is "... the WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others."
FAOSTAT
An on-line, multilingual database currently containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, and Population.
United Nations Statistics Division
WHO World Health Statistics
From the World Health Organization. Search for the most recent health information and statistics by indicators and countries. Reports are downloadable in PDF and Excel formats.
ICPSR Data Archive
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.

Center for Health Statistics
"A source of information for assessment of community health and for public health planning."
Healthcare Information and Statistics
From the Texas Health and Human Services Commission
State Health Facts - Kaiser Family Foundation
"More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked and downloaded."
Texas Health Care Information Collection
The purpose of this collection is "to collect data and report on health care activity in hospitals and health maintenance organizations operating in Texas."
Texas Demographic Center

Last Updated: Mar 4, 2025 4:48 PM
URL: https://etamu.libguides.com/nursing
Print Page

Subjects: Nursing

Tags: Biological Research, health, health care, nursing, public health, statistics

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type

Nursing Research Resources

Research Tip: Assessing Online Health Information Sources

Statistical Resources