Introduction to Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals

The Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals is a collection of over 50 full-text nursing journals from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins plus 2 comprehensive bibliographic databases (Ovid EMCARE and Ovid Nursing Proprietary Bibliographic Dataset).

What does Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals cover?

• allied health,
• education and training,
• development and management,
• midwifery,
• health and health care economics,
• clinical medical and healthcare social work,
• psychiatry and mental health,
• traumatology,
• emergency and critical-care medicine.

On this page:

• Searching in Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals
• Advanced Search Features
• Video Tutorials for Using Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals

Searching in Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals

 Here are some tips for building effective search with in the Ovid database.

• Chose search query types depending on your needs - There are three types of searches that Ovid supports:
  1. Group of terms: a concise language of a concept, the standard in most databases
  2. Full query: a question or phrase stated in everyday language, similar to how you would search Google
  3. Title Search: copy and paste an article or journal title
• Use Include Related Terms - selecting "Include Related Terms", will expand your search criteria by including synonyms, acronyms, and variants of your original term(s).
• State queries concisely - Keep queries simple and concise. Too many words can return poor result or may return no results at all.  
• Use nouns more than verbs - Nouns are easy to identify and have less ambiguity, this will retrieve more relevant results. 
• Do not force phrasing - Using quotation marks, parenthesis, or hyphens within a query causes Ovid to not consider possible expansions. Unless you are looking a very specific phrase, like a title or name, do not punctuation in your query. 

Key Search Features

The way Ovid is design it is suggested to start your search with a basic search and unlike many databases, in Ovid, search limits are accessible through basic search.  Beyond your standard limits, such as full text or publication date, you are also able to limit by the following:

• Point of Care
  • Care Plans
  • Diagnosis Tools and Test
  • Evidence-based Healthcare
  • Guidelines 
  • Patient Education 
  • Signs and Symptoms
  • Treatment and Therapy 
• EBM- Evidence Based Medicine
  • Evidence Based Medicine 
  • Consensus Development
  • Meta Analysis
  • Outcomes Researched 
  • Systematic Review
• Training and Development
  • Continuing Education 

Video Tutorials for Using Ovid Emcare with Ovid Nursing Journals

For tutorial videos for Ovid Emcare; including advance search visit  Ovid's tutorial page.