Skip to Main Content
Snow
...

A-Z Databases

Alphabets Find by Title

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Video available
Audio available
Open Access
Accessibility info link
TexShare resource
GLAM resource

Nursing Research Resources

The starting place for Nursing students to get more information about essential resources.

Introduction to the Research Guide

This guide highlights several of the most-utilized databases for evidence-based medical study and practice. These databases contain essential resources for conducting research and investigations. Searching in these databases can be somewhat different than searching in databases of other disciplines, and you can find tips for conducting your research in the pages for each of the databases.

Nursing is a multidisciplinary discipline, and the library has a wide array of resources from diverse fields related to Nursing, such as education, communications, business, biological sciences, medicine, psychology, hospital management, public health, sociology, and mental health. In some cases, you  may want to search the entire library collection.

If you want to search almost everything in the library's collection, you can start with One Search  at the Velma K. Waters Library homepage. Results will include books, articles, videos, and more. This is a great way to start a research project to find the the broadest range of resources. To start a search, type in your keywords in the search box. The use the column on the left side of the results page to more specific search criteria.

The library's collection includes several essential databases focused on Nursing, including:

You can also see the complete list of databases recommended for Nursing here. If you want to see all of the databases you can find them at A-Z Databases.

Learning Objectives

The Nursing LibGuide is designed to help you learn more about the resources students will use frequently. By the end of this guide, you will learn:

  • how to access the most frequently used resources
  • how to search for clinical data
  • where to access agencies and organizations

Note: All links on this page open in a new window.

Helpful Hints

When you are doing research, keep the following in mind.

  • Keep track of keywords that produce the best results.
  • Use synonyms for keywords.
  • Many databases have a sidebar on the results page to filter results, use this to limit results by subject, date, and publication type.
  • Utilize your librarian. We are happy to help at any stage of your research. Contact us via Ask a Librarian.  We can schedule consultations either in person or over Zoom.