Skip to Main Content
Snow
...

A-Z Databases

Alphabets Find by Title

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Video available
Audio available
Open Access
Accessibility info link
TexShare resource
GLAM resource

Counseling

A guide to counseling research to support the Masters and Doctoral programs at East Texas A&M University

East Texas A&M University (ETAMU) Counseling Department

The Department of Counseling maintains a page with information about the program, counseling clinics in Commerce and McKinney, and faculty information. This page can be useful when considering which path or direction you want to take or if you are interested in the counseling services offered. 

Current students may find the Department of Counseling Internal Resources page helpful. It contains multiple program handbooks and other certification and exam information. 

Exams of Note: 

  • Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) - The CPCE is an exit exam that reviews all core counseling concepts. All School and Clinical Mental Health students must pass this exam to graduate. The exam must be taken at a ETAMU Testing Center or a Pearson approved site. 
  • National Counselor Exam (NCE) - This standardized test is used to assess the knowledge, abilities, and skills for counseling services. This exam is a requirement for counselor licensure in many states, however it is not a requirement for graduation. This page provides detailed information about the benefits and negatives of taking the exam before and after graduation.
  • Counseling Doctoral Comprehensive Exam - Starting in 2020, this exam became a written portfolio. This page includes a checklist. Be sure to confirm most recent requirements with your advisor.

Practicing for National Exams

The Library supports your examinations by providing access to Mometrix! This database includes practice tests, flash cards, and other information you need to get ready for your test! 

Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Exam (CPCE) - includes interactive flash cards, practice questions, interactive practice questions, and a "secrets" study guide.

National Counselor Exam (NCE) - includes interactive flash cards, practice questions, interactive practice questions, and a "secrets" study guide.

Texas Associations and Organizations

These organizations can provide you support through networking, mentorship, and professional development at any stage of your professional career.

National Associations and Organizations

National organizations are beneficial for expanding your opportunities outside the state of Texas. They provide resources to benefit your career in a national and global setting.