Journal Search
Journal Search
Find by Subject
Find by Type
Many resources can be "academic" depending on the purpose and goal of your assignment. However, when deciding which articles to use for your research papers, academic is often associated with peer-reviewed journals.
What makes a journal peer review?
Other terminology that can be used is: "blind peer review," "scholarly peer review" or "refereed" depending on the process or preference of that particular journal.
If you need to determine if a journal is peer reviewed, you can search for the referee jersey in Ulrich's Periodical Directory.
Content for this box is derived from: https://academicguides.waldenu.edu/library/verifypeerreview.
Two of the best databases for finding articles for Counseling is through APA PsychNet. This includes two databases, PsycINFO and PsycArticles. You can search for scholarly peer-reviewed articles, books, and more! You can also limit your search by research methodology, population or age group, author, and year. Some tests and measures can be found through the limiters or when you do a regular search.
Need more research than what you can find in the "Best Bets"? There are still thousands of journal articles in some of our other databases. You can always use OneSearch to find articles across most of the databases in our collection. You can learn how to search OneSearch through our training videos playlist: Research Basics.
Depending on the focus of your research, you may need to consider searching other subject-specific databases. If your focus is education, you might want to search education databases. If you are handling group or family therapy, you may want to consider databases that focus on sociology or social sciences. Think about connections to your research question (see the Research Basics tab) and what other subjects may overlap. Here are a few options to help you get started.
