Journal Search
Journal Search
Find by Subject
Find by Type
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society.
REGISTRATION REQUIRED --- New users must register for a personal login using their MyLeo or TAMUC.edu email address to access SciFinder.
A division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the ACS Publications database provides online access to more than 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published or co-published by the Publications Division. Includes online access to the ACS Style Guide.
Videos demonstrating a wide range of STEM subjects including biology, chemistry, environmental science, psychology, clinical medicine, and engineering.
Articles published in peer-reviewed journals are marked with this icon within OneSearch:
If you're ever in doubt about whether or not a source is peer-reviewed, ask your Waters Librarians via Ask A Librarian and we can help you verify.
For more information about peer reviewed articles, as well as to learn the difference between a journal article and a pre-print, see the following guide:
If you already know what topic you want to research and a few key terms to begin your searching process, using a database can be an efficient way to find resources. Several databases have been highlighted as potentially useful databases for Chemistry research and are linked at the bottom of this page.
You can also navigate to a database from our A-Z List using the following steps:
If you are off campus, you will be asked to log in. Students will use their MyLeo credentials, and Faculty/Staff will use their AD login (lastnamefirstname and password).
If you have questions about a specific database please reach out to the library via Ask a Librarian.
Be aware that unless otherwise specified, SciFinder-n's basic search field defaults to linking multiple search terms together with an implied OR, rather than an implied AND like most other search tools and databases.
For example, if you search turmeric immune cells, you will get all results that include at least one of those three words because SciFinder-n is treating the query as turmeric OR immune OR cells.
If you want to search for more than one term in combination, you will need to include the word AND in your search. Additionally, if any of your search terms are a phrase rather than a single word, you can enclose them in quotation marks to link them together in your query.
turmeric AND "immune cells"
For more information, see:
The following are selected resources for chemistry research available through Velma K. Waters Library or with open access through other scholarly organizations.
REGISTRATION REQUIRED --- New users must register for a personal login to access SciFinder.
1. Create an account.
2. Complete the registration form using your leomail.tamuc.edu email address.
3. Follow the directions in the confirmation email.
4. Connect to SciFinder.
5. Login with the username and password you created.
Pre-Print Servers: Some authors choose to share a manuscript version of their articles in pre-print servers before those articles are published by a journal. Pre-prints are often checked by the editors/moderators before being made public, but are not considered peer-reviewed. Before citing a pre-print in any research project, make sure that you are clear about your instructor or publisher's citation policies. Some may only accept peer-reviewed sources, while others may be open to pre-prints as an acceptable citation type.
