Chemistry

A guide to Chemistry research at the Velma K. Waters Library.

Is there a resource you want to see included here?

We are always looking for ways to improve this guide and highlight resources that will be helpful to our students, faculty, and staff.

If you have resources to recommend, please complete our feedback survey and let us know!

Style Manual

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communications This link opens in a new window
Guide to scientific communication and publication, writing about your research, and scientific and editorial style conventions | Updates the ACS Style Guide and contains all instructions from previous editions | Overview of preprints, open access, machine-readable data, and more.

ACS (American Chemistry Society)
"Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, we are one of the world’s largest scientific organizations with more than 173,000 individuals in our global community across 140 countries. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Our vision is to improve all people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry."
AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers)
"AIChE is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 60,000 members from more than 110 countries."
ECS (The Electrochemical Society)
"The mission of The Electrochemical Society is to advance theory and practice at the forefront of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and allied subjects."
IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry)
"The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on chemical nomenclature, terminology (including the naming of new elements in the periodic table), standardized methods for measurement, atomic weights and many other critically-evaluated data."

For more in-depth information about research methods, see the following research guides:

Scientific Research Basics
by A. P. Anderson Last Updated Dec 6, 2024 24 views this year

Databases:

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Sage Campus This link opens in a new window
Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. The online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.
Access Note: You will need to create an account with your MyLeo email to use Sage Campus.
Sage Skills: Student Success This link opens in a new window
Sage Skills: Student Success empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond. With more than 1,100 topics across 10 comprehensive modules, this digital resource provides a flexible and engaging learning journey through interactive scenarios, self-assessments, downloadable exercises, videos, and more.

Trade Publications

Trade Publications (sometimes called Trade Magazines or Trade Journals) are created with the intention of keeping members of a specific profession or industry informed about current trends, news, and development within the field. The articles in these publications are not considered scholarly, but are often written by members of the profession. Some trade publications also include ads for products related to the industry, job postings, and information about upcoming conferences.

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Environmental protection laws and regulations from the EPA. Search by topic or business sector, look up guidance, compliance, and enforcement, and report violations.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Regulatory information about food, drugs, medical devices, vaccines, animal and veterinary products, cosmetics, and tobacco products.
International Council for Harmonisation (ICH)
European regulations from the International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH).
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Workplace safety regulations by OSHA & the US Department of Labor. Contains links to rules, standards, and resources, as well as a place to file complaints.

Unless otherwise specified, all resources listed in this tab are created or provided by the United States government or the Texas state government.

OTSI.gov
By the DOE (Department of Energy) OTSI (Office of Scientific and Technical Information), "OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 75 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites."
WorldWideScience
"WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) on behalf of the International Council of Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI), WorldWideScience.org allows the user to search multiple scientific sources from around the world with a single query. Multilingual translations capabilities exist for ten languages, enabling access to the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering. Much of the information accessed via WorldWideScience.org is freely available, in support of open science."

Science: Interactive This link opens in a new window
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type

Chemistry

Google Scholar

Is there a resource you want to see included here?

Style Manual

Databases:

Trade Publications