Skip to Main Content
Snow
...

A-Z Databases

Alphabets Find by Title

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Video available
Audio available
Open Access
Accessibility info link
TexShare resource
GLAM resource

RefWorks

a how-to guide for RefWorks.

Additional Features

RefWorks can be used for more than just storing references. You can also:

 

Generating Bibliographies & In-Text Citations

Bibliographies

You can easily produce bibliographies doing one of the following:

  1. Select the folder containing the references for your bibliography. If they are not in one folder then use the All References option in the top left side bar and select the reference you want to use. (This is the default screen for RefWorks).
  2.  Select Create Bibliography from the Create Bibliography bibliography icon menu
  3. Check All reference or Selected references 
  4. Select citation style from the drop down. 
    • The completed bibliography will displayed.  
  5. Click the Copy to Clipboard button Clipboard and paste into your document.

Alternatively, 

  1. Step 1 is the same as above. 
  2. Select Quick Cite from the Create Bibliography bibliography icon menu.
    • This action opens a new window and steps you through the process of creating your bibliography
  3. Choose the citation style.  If the citation style you need isn't in the pull-down menu, use the search function to find the style you need. Click the Continue button. The full list of references from the folder or "All Reference" will display.
  4. "All refences" in the list is the default, so if you only want a selected references; select the references you want to use before clicking Continue to bibliography. 
    • The completed bibliography will displayed.  
  5. Click the Copy to Clipboard button Clipboard and paste the into your document.

Creating In-text Citation

Decorative

You can also use the "Quick Cite" option for in-text citations. 

  1. Select "Quick Cite" from the "Create Bibliography" menu.
  2. Choose a citation style and click "Continue"
  3. Select the reference(s) you want to cite.
    • The in-text citation will appear in the box above the  reference list. 
  4. Click the clipboard icon to the right of the box. 
  5. Paste the citation into your Document. 

Using RefWorks While Writing

Microsoft Word

The RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) for Word only works on Word 2021 and above. 

When working with a Word 2021(or more recent) document that will use your RefWorks library, do the following to obtain the RCM:

  1. Open a Word document.
  2. From the Insert tab, click on the Get Add-ins icon. (Found in the Add-ins section)
  3. Search for RefWorks or RCM.
  4. Click on the Add button located to the right of RefWorks Citation Manager option.
    • The RefWorks Citation Manager app displays in a side panel to the right of your Word document.
  5. Login to your RefWorks account.
    • If you have set up more than one Project, you'll need to select the Project appropriate for the paper you are writing.
  6. Once you have logged in to your RefWorks account, you will have access to your RefWorks library, including the ability to:
    • search your RefWorks library;
    • move to specific folders;
    • sort the citations by dates added, accessed, or published, by author, or by title;
    • change citation styles; and more.

If the side bar does not appear right away or in the future, when you need the RefWorks Citation Manager, do the following: 

  1. Go to the Insert tab in Word,
  2. Click on the drop-down arrow associated with My Add-ins, 
  3. Select RefWorks Citation Manage
  4. RCM should now appear in your navigation bar, click it and select RefWorks Citation Manger icon. 
    • The app will now display in a side panel to the right of your Word document.
Google Docs

To obtain the add-on, do the following:

  1. Open a new Google doc.
  2. Select Get Add-ons icon from the right sidebar.
  3. Search for RefWorks.
  4. Click on the Install button to the right of the ProQuest RefWorks add-on option.
  5. Click on the Allow button to accept the conditions associated with using this add-on to complete the process.
    • The RefWorks add-on is now located in your Add-on menu for this document.

The RefWorks Google docs add-on works very much like the Reference Citation Manager for Word. Start writing your paper. When you are ready to insert a citation, do the following:

  1. From the Extensions menu,
  2. Select RefWorks Citation Manager 
  3. Click Manage citations.
    • If this is the first time using the RefWorks add-on, you will need to login to your RefWorks account.

After logging in, your RefWorks library will be available from the right side panel and you will have the ability to: 

  • search your RefWorks library;
  • move to specific folders;
  • sort the citations by dates added, accessed, or published, by author, or by title;
  • change citation styles; and more.

Using Projects

Projects enable you to maintain separate reference collections for different research projects. Similar to the folders you can collaborate with other user by sharing projects. Example of use would be to have a project for each semester then a folder for each course and sub-folders for each assignment with in a course. 

Creating Projects

To create a new project:

  1. From the Managing Projects page, select Create a new Project.
  2. Name your Project 
  3. Click Save

Decorative

Sharing Projects

To open the Project Sharing Settings page:

  1. From My Projects page, select the Action dropdown next to the project you want to share.. 
  2. Click Share Project,

From here you can add and remove access to the project. 

  • To share the project with a member, enter an email address in the Invite Members to Join field.
  • To stop sharing the project with a member, select Remove next to the member’s email address.
  • To stop sharing the project with all members, select Unshare Project.
  • Those with access to shared projects can add, delete, and modify folders, as well as references. 
  • Any one with access to a shared project can delete them, as long as no one has the project set as current. 
Moving References between Projects
  1. In the project from which you want to move references, create a new folder.
  2. Select the references you want to move, and assigned them to the new folder. 
  3. Under My folders, select the menu button ___ , select Share folder. 
  4. Under the Settings for drop down, select  Anyone within your organization may join this folder and select Done.
  5. From the Project Menu, select the project to which you want to move the references.
  6. Join the shared folder 
  7. Move the references from the shared folder to folders in the project.
  8. Leave the shared folder by:
    1. Clicking the Sharing tab
    2.  Select the shared folder 
    3.  Click Leave Shared Folder
  9. From the Project Menu, select the original project.
  10. Stop sharing the folder by repeating steps 3 & 4 but select Only invited people may access instead.