Library Databases

The Databases A-Z List can be accessed from the Library homepage. (links open in an new window)

Search Tips: 

• Use the "Advanced Search" if available to pre-select date ranges
• The "Advanced Search" for some databases will have a "Document Type" filter with "Recipe" as an option
• To narrow your results, search for recipe ingredients, i.e. "bread and recipe," "main course and recipe," "ham and recipe"
• Use quotes "" to focus your keywords, i.e. "main course" looks only for the phrase while main course looks for both words individually
• If you are having trouble finding recipes using specific keywords try selecting "Apply related words," or "Also search within the full text of the articles" under "Search Options," on the Advanced Search
• For more information on accessing the New York Times, visit the NYT Research Guide

Online Sources

The Cookbooks and Home Economics Collection at the Internet Archive includes items from UCLA's Young Research Library of Special Collections, The Bancroft Library at UC-Berkeley, and Prelinger Library in San Francisco. (Links open in a new window)

• Cookbooks and Home Economics Collection
  • Video Tutorial: Navigating the Internet Archive's Cookbooks and Home Economics Collection

Use the navigation menu on the right hand side of the page to sort content. The Internet Archive will ask you to "Check Out" or "Borrow" the book to view all the content. You can create a free account using Google or an email address. 

The Home Economics Pamphlet Collection at the University of North Carolina Greensboro consists of government and commercial publications published between 1826 and the present. 

• Home Economics Pamphlet Collection
  • Video Tutorial: Navigating the Home Economics Pamphlet Collection at UNC-Greensboro

Image:

Betty Crocker. (1959) "Tuna Royal Pancakes." In 133 Quicker Ways to Homemade...with BISQUICK (p. 16). General Mills, Inc.  http://www.foodanddrink.amdigital.co.uk/Documents/Details/NYAM_3068102144594_Mcpam