Library Databases

The Databases A-Z List can be accessed from the Library homepage. (links open in an new window)

Search Tips: 

• Use the "Advanced Search" if available to pre-select date ranges
• The "Advanced Search" for some databases will have a "Document Type" filter with "Advertisement" as an option
• The "Advanced Search" for some databases will have a "Theme" filter with "Advertising and Marketing" as an option
• In some library databases you can click on the "Documents" tab to browse items, then filter by year
• To narrow your results, search for specific brands, i.e. "Campbell Soup," "Heinz," "Bisquick"
• Use quotes "" to focus your keywords, i.e. "McCormick & Co" looks only for the phrase while McCormick and Co looks for both words individually
• If you are having trouble finding items using specific keywords try selecting "Apply related words," or "Also search within the full text of the articles" under "Search Options," on the Advanced Search
• For more information on accessing the New York Times, visit the NYT Research Guide

Online Sources

Cornell University Library Digital Collections Good Housekeeping collection.  This collection has digitized issues of Good Housekeeping from 1885-1950. Issues can be browsed but they are not searchable.  Each issue does have an index to major articles. Advertisements are not noted in index. (links open in a new window)

Good Housekeeping

The Internet Archive has a limited selection of Ladies Home Journal courtesy of the Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive at the University of Michigan Library. There are several issues from the 1940s and 1950s. The easiest way to navigate is to click on an issue and then zoom in to find the publication date. It will be on the cover or the table of contents page. 

Ladies Home Journal

The Internet Archive has Better Homes and Gardens available from 1940-1963. The issues are scanned in bulk, meaning that several months are in one file, but they are browsable. They are not full text searchable. 

Better Homes and Gardens

Image: 

“H. J. Heinz Company.” 1948. Life 24 (25): 4. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lma&AN=118823263&site=ehost-live.