Video available

Audio available

Open Access

Accessibility info link

TexShare resource

GLAM resource

Dual Credit Resources

Collection of library resources for Dual Credit courses instructors and students.

Velma K. Waters Library offers a wide variety of resources and services to assist instructors. All links open in a new window.

Services

Library Instruction

Librarians are happy to provide tailored workshops in person or online on the use of library resources and different research topics. You can contact Sarah Northam for more information or to schedule a workshop.

Plagiarism

The Plagiarism Research Guide identifies different types of plagiarism and provides strategies for avoiding it. The guide has a completion quiz which students can take or turn in for a grade.

Open Educational Resources

Waters Library offers consultations on the use, creation, and implementation of Open Educational Resources (OER) for your course materials. OER are teaching, learning, or research resources that are in the public domain or available under a open intellectual property license. For more information, contact Sarah Northam, Scholarly Communications Librarian.

Resources

OneSearch & Library Databases

OneSearch is the Library's research gateway. It searches for information across a majority of the library books, databases, and other collections. Additionally, the Library has access to over 250 databases that can be used for not only research but also instructional materials. Some of the Library databases include access to newspapers, popular magazines, scholarly articles, and e-books.

Research Guides

Librarians can work with instructors to create customized research guides for their classes. A research guide identifies specific resources and tools for a particular topic. They can also provide information on how to do something including completing an assignment or searching a database. For more information or to request a research guide contact Sarah Northam.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan acquires materials from other libraries for that are not in our library's collections. Instructors can request books and articles for their research needs. If you live outside of Commerce, you can request that non-electronic materials be mailed to you. Return postage is included when items are shipped.

Credo Information Literacy - Core

Credo Information Literacy - Core uses standards-aligned multimedia content to build essential information literacy and critical-thinking skills. Topics are divided among nine sections; each includes videos, tutorials, and quizzes. The modules can be embedded into D2L.

Academic Testing Databases

The library provides access to Mometrix, Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep, and Learning Express Library which include resources to study for different standardized exams included TExES, GRE, CLEP, Accuplacer, ACT, and SAT. Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep also allows users to search for schools and/or scholarships.

Library Databases

The selection of databases below are helpful for curriculum planning or student projects. A complete list of library databases is available on the A-Z Databases page.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
Research tool to locate educational reading material for PreK through 12th grade with content from over 3 million titles, more than 650,000 reviews, thousands of book lists, and more.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online contains signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean.
Something About The Author Online This link opens in a new window
Something About the Author database compiles online access to the over 200 volume, 12,000 entry, and nearly 17,000 image two series set containing biographical profiles of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Each profile contains information regarding the individual's personal life, contact details, career highlights, complete bibliography, and works in progress. Samples of illustrations are also included. The database can be searched by author, illustrator, title, or keyword. The full image format matches the exact look of the print original.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A collection of 50,000 poems from more than 300 American poets.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Over 600 volumes of poetry by 283 British poets from 1900 to present day.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Offers multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed, full-text academic journals as well as magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features over 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of American magazines and journals from colonial days to the early 20th century.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material of American history from 1789 to 1838, covering the first 14 Congresses as well as some Executive Department materials.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of scholarly peer-reviewed and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of primary resource material from the U.S. Civil War with contextual documents from before and after the war.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Over 3,000 reports from 1923 to the present providing a historical perspective on the politics and current events of the time.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest is the largest genealogical data provider in the United States and a leading purveyor of data, products, supplies and equipment to consumers and institutions. Contains genealogy resources, including 1790-1930 US Federal Census records, genealogical book and periodical indexes, Revolutionary War records and Freedmans Bank records.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of the popular sports magazine dating from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Time Magazine Archive contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified. Time Magazine Archive includes over 4,000 issues from 1923 through 2000.

Biology Database This link opens in a new window
Nearly 400 journal titles with 325 available in full text covering biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, ctyology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, and zoology.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
Videos demonstrating a wide range of STEM subjects including biology, chemistry, environmental science, psychology, clinical medicine, and engineering.
JoVE Video Journal This link opens in a new window
A collection of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly science journals covering physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Elsevier Science Journals is a full text collection that contains several core titles of scientific literature.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Citations to over 1700 journals, conference proceedings, and books in mathematics.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases on a variety of subjects. Producers include PBS, The Criterion Channel, and more. Due to cost, Waters Library will be purchasing Kanopy video licenses on a case-by-case basis. If you are a faculty member and would like to request the purchase of a Kanopy title, please fill out our Streaming Film Request form.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online (formerly VAST) is a multidisciplinary streaming video resource. AVON covers the following areas and more: art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films), psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women's studies.
Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Combined interface for Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library and relevant video from AVON.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full access to the latest edition of the MLA Handbook of Style, the 2nd edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, works-cited-list examples, sample papers, and more.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference offers a package of English dictionaries & references, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps & illustrations, time lines, and encyclopedia.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 7,000 of the worlds top newspapers and magazines as soon as they're available on shelves. Current 60-90 days only. Includes Dallas Morning News. **If using mobile device, download Android or iOS app. Use the Library or Group Sign in.

Use the following instructions to sign into the university's subscription.
Sign in to Library or Group
1. Select Sign in
2. Select Library or Group
3. Enter Texas in search bar (next to magnifying glass)
4. Select East Texas A&M University
5. Select Sign in
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window
Research tool to locate educational reading material for PreK through 12th grade with content from over 3 million titles, more than 650,000 reviews, thousands of book lists, and more.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Ensure student and educator success with EBSCOs interface for schools and libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
See also: Explora for Elementary/Primary and Explora for High School
Replaces EBSCO KidSearch, Searchasaurus, and Student Research Center
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It does not include books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type

Dual Credit Resources

Services

Resources

Library Databases