Skip to Main Content
Snow
...

A-Z Databases

Alphabets Find by Title

All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Video available
Audio available
Open Access
Accessibility info link
TexShare resource
GLAM resource

Social Work

A guide to Social Work research at the Velma K. Waters Library.

Tests & Measurements

Tests and measurements are usually used for research and assessment. They can be surveys, questionnaires, scales, and other instruments that are used to collect, measure, and analyze data related to your research topic. Tests are usually only available for purchase and the full text may not be easily available. 

However, you can find Reviews of tests in the Mental Measurements Yearbook database available online at the Library. If there is not a review of the test you are looking for, search for the name of the test in PsycINFO or CINAHL Complete to find the article it was originally published in. That article will give you all the information about the development of the test.

Note: Use this database to find Reviews of testing instruments. Actual test instruments are NOT provided. Most reviews discuss the validity and reliability of the tool. To obtain or purchase the actual test materials, you will need to contact the test author(s) or publisher(s). 

Watch this video to learn how to find tests and measurements in the Mental Measurements Yearbook.

Use this database to see if a particular test was used in a research article. 

  • Go to the"Advanced Search", type your subject terms in the search boxes, select the "Tests & Measures" field, and then hit "Search".

Example: workaholic 

APA PsycInfo databases Advanced Search

  • When the result page opens, click on the title of the article, and go over the record to have some brief information about the test and measurements used in the article. Then click on the PDF to find full information about the test development. 

APA PsycInfo database result page

You can search for tests, measures, scales, and other instruments using the same techniques you would use to search for research articles in this database.

  • Go to the "Advanced Search", and type your research subject terms within the search boxes

Example: depression

CINAHL Advanced Search

  •  Then scroll down the page to the "Publication Type" section, select the "Questionnaire/Scale", and hit "Search"

 

   CINAHL Advanced Search

 

Note: To have full information about the instruments used in the article, you may go to the full text by clicking on the PDF, and read the "Method" section of the article.

  CINAHL retrieved article in PDF