LGBTQ+ Topics Research

An introduction to researching LGBTQ+ related topics at Velma K. Waters Library.

Beyond the Library

These resources are beyond the boundaries of the Waters Library collection, but they were included in this research guide because they are likely to be useful to researchers studying LGBTQ+ related topics, as well as to LGBTQ+ students, staff, and faculty at East Texas A&M University.

A variety of organizations and institutions are involved in the creation and management of these resources. Many are hosted by other academic institutions, like universities, libraries, and museums, while others are created by government agencies or non-profit groups. While the information contained within these sources may be factual, accurate, and useful, it is likely not considered scholarly or peer reviewed. Most primary source documents, archival materials, and oral histories are by their very nature not peer-reviewed because they are items of historical record. Double check requirements before citing these as resources in any research papers or assignments, and if you need assistance, please Ask a Librarian.

Collections of historical or archival materials maintained by other research-oriented institutions such as libraries, museums, universities, and non-profit archival organizations. Although their hosting institutions have made these resources open to the public, please observe the copyright held by any individual databases, resources, and documents when deciding how to use these items in your own research.

Digital Transgender Archive
An online hub for historical materials about the transgender community. The DTA is based in Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusets, but collaborates with 60+ universities, nonprofit organizations, and libraries.
A note on language from the archive's statement of purpose: "The DTA uses the term transgender to refer to a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices. We treat transgender as a practice rather than an identity category in order to bring together a trans-historical and trans-cultural collection of materials related to trans-ing gender. We collect materials from anywhere in the world with a focus on materials created before the year 2000."
Independent Voices on JSTOR
About this Collection: "Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network
A virtual archive of oral histories and primary source documents concerning LGBTQ religious organizations and activists. LGBTQ-RAN was originally a project of the Chicago Theological Seminary and was managed by the Center for LGBTQ & Gender Studies in Religion in Berkeley, California until 2020 when it became an independent charitable organization.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Materials collected and indexed by the Library of Congress. Web Archive Collections of note include: LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates, LGBTQ+ Studies, Women's and Gender Studies, and the Leonard Bernstein collection.
UCLA Library Digital Collections
Features 200+ collections, including AIDS activism posters, lesbian-serving non-profits like Southern California Women For Understanding (1975-1999) and Connexxus/Centro de Mujeres (1984-1990), the papers of literary scholar and lesbian historian Lillian Faderman, and the Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection.
UNT's Portal to Texas History: LGBT Collections
A collection of primary source historical documents, images, and items curated by the University of North Texas in Denton. From the LGBT Collections page, the collection indexes: "Publications pertaining to issues relevant to the LGBT community. The collection includes The Dallas Voice, a weekly newspaper for the gay community in North Texas that has been published since 1984."

Statistics, demographic information, and other relevant datasets collected about the LGBTQ+ community by government, academic, and non-profit organizations.

Pew Research Center: Gender & LGBTQ
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
United States Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau began collecting data on same-sex couples in 1990, and began asking census participants about sexual orientation and gender identity in July of 2021.
Williams Institute, UCLA School of Law
From the Williams Institute's mission statement: "The Williams Institute is dedicated to conducting rigorous, independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. The Institute disseminates its research to policymakers, judges, the media, and other stakeholders to ensure that decisions impacting the lives of millions of LGBT people and families are based on data and facts." The site also features an interactive map showing demographic and socioeconomic information about the LGBT community.

Audio and video interviews with LGBTQ+ activists, historical figures, and members of the community, collected for the purposes of preserving LGBTQ+ history.

ACT UP Oral History Project
An archive of video interviews with members of ACT UP, an activist group founded in 1987 to fight for an end to the AIDS crisis. Its Latino/A Caucus also fought for LGBT rights in Puerto Rico.
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network
A virtual archive of oral histories and primary source documents concerning LGBTQ religious organizations and activists. LGBTQ-RAN was originally a project of the Chicago Theological Seminary and was managed by the Center for LGBTQ & Gender Studies in Religion in Berkeley, California until 2020 when it became an independent charitable organization.
LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory
Based at the University of Toronto, the LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory is an archive of gay, lesbian, queer, and trans oral histories across the US and Canada.

The following resources are created, maintained, and made accessible to the public by departments within the U.S. Federal government or the Texas State government.

CDC: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Health care information and resources provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, particularly as it relates to the treatment or prevention of HIV.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Materials collected and indexed by the Library of Congress. Web Archive Collections of note include: LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates, LGBTQ+ Studies, Women's and Gender Studies, and the Leonard Bernstein collection.
Texas State Law Library: LGBT Law
The Texas State Law Library is a public law library that serves the needs of the Texas Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, the Office of the Attorney General, other state agencies and commissions, and the citizens of the state. It hosts a research guide on LGBT law in Texas, including recent developments in state law, information on same-sex marriage and divorce, and steps for seeking legal name and gender marker changes.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: LGBTQI+ Heath and Well-being
Resources and information related to health care for the LGBTQI+ community.
United States Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau began collecting data on same-sex couples in 1990, and began asking census participants about sexual orientation and gender identity in July of 2021.
Veterans Health Administration LGBTQ+ Health Program
Information on health care services for LGBTQ+ veterans of the United States Armed Forces.

The resources presented on this list are created and maintained by various LGBTQ+ focused organizations outside of academia, or provide non-scholarly resources from academic institutions.

Anti-Trans Legislation: A Guide by Cornell University Library
Developed by Cornell University librarians, this guide provides information about anti-transgender legislation in the United States, connects transgender individuals with advocacy groups in all 50 states, gives resources on legal name and documentation changes, offers guidance for allies, and educates readers about evaluating sources for bias.
Lambda Legal
A nonprofit organization that advocates for the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people, and people living with HIV in the United States. Offers educational materials, including "Know Your Rights" primers and state-by-state guides. The organization also has a Help Desk feature, available online/by phone, for inquiries about LGBTQ+ legal issues.
National Center for Transgender Equality
A nonprofit civil rights advocacy group that provides information about transgender issues in the United States. Also contains federal and state-by-state guides to legal name and gender marker changes in the United States,and a guide to getting gender-affirming healthcare covered by insurance.
National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center
Provides educational resources and tools aimed at teaching healthcare providers how to better serve the LGBTQ+ community's needs. The Health Education Center is a program run by The Fenway Institute, a non-profit organization and healthcare provider out of Boston, MA.
Stonewall.org's List of LGBTQ+ Terms
Definitions of LGBTQ+ terminology created by Stonewall, an advocacy and education charity based out of the UK, Scotland, and Wales.
Trans in the South
Developed by the Campaign for Southern Equality, "Trans in the South: A Directory of Trans-Affirming Health & Legal Service Providers is a directory of more than 400 Southern health service providers who are trans-affirming."
Transgender Law Center
A trans-led nonprofit that advocates for transgender rights in the United States. Also offers resources for learning more about the legal status of transgender issues as they relate to identity documentation, healthcare, employment, housing, and more.

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type

LGBTQ+ Topics Research

Google Scholar

Beyond the Library