Video available

Audio available

Open Access

Accessibility info link

TexShare resource

GLAM resource

Engineering & Technology

A guide to Engineering & Technology research at the Velma K. Waters Library.

Is there a resource you want to see included here?

We are always looking for ways to improve this guide and highlight resources that will be helpful to our students, faculty, and staff.

If you have resources to recommend, please complete our feedback survey and let us know!

Additional Resources

AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers)
"AIChE is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 60,000 members from more than 110 countries."
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)
"The American Society of Civil Engineers represents more than 150,000 members of the civil engineering profession in 177 countries. Founded in 1852, ASCE is the nation’s oldest engineering society."
ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education)
"Founded in 1893, the American Society for Engineering Education is a nonprofit organization of individuals and institutions committed to furthering education in engineering and engineering technology. "
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
"The American Society Of Mechanical Engineers promotes the art, science & practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe."
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)
"ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life‐long learning, career development, and professional networking."
ECS (The Electrochemical Society)
"The mission of The Electrochemical Society is to advance theory and practice at the forefront of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and allied subjects."
HFES (Human Factors & Ergonomics Society)
"The mission of HFES is to advance the science and practice of designing for people in systems through knowledge exchange, collaboration, and advocacy."
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
"IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities." Their Standards Association, IEEE SA, creates the standards for many fundamental technologies around the world, including Ethernet, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth.
IEEE Computer Society
"Engaging computer engineers, scientists, academia, and industry professionals from all areas of computing, the IEEE Computer Society (CS) sets the standard for the education and engagement that fuels continued global technological advancement. Through conferences, publications, and programs, and by bringing together computer science and engineering leaders at every phase of their career for dialogue, debate, and collaboration, IEEE CS empowers, shapes, and guides the future of not only its members, but the greater industry, enabling new opportunities to better serve our world."
IET (The Institution of Engineering & Technology)
"We are a global diverse home for more than 154,000 engineering and technology professionals in 148 countries and we will support you at every stage of your career, whether it’s developing new capabilities or perfecting established ones."
NAE (National Academy of Engineering)
"Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation by providing independent advice on matters involving engineering and technology, and by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and public appreciation of engineering."
SAE International
"SAE International [formerly named the Society of Automotive Engineers] is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Our core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development."

For more in-depth information about research methods, see the following research guides:

Scientific Research Basics
by Zephyr Rankin Last Updated Nov 21, 2025 44 views this year

Databases:

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Sage Campus
Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. The online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.
Access Note: You will need to create an account with your MyLeo email to use Sage Campus.
Sage Skills: Student Success
Sage Skills: Student Success empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond. With more than 1,100 topics across 10 comprehensive modules, this digital resource provides a flexible and engaging learning journey through interactive scenarios, self-assessments, downloadable exercises, videos, and more.

Popular Titles: The following publications are popular magazines and news sources, not scholarly research journals. The content published in these sources is intended to inform general audiences of trends and current research in a particular field.

The links on this tab redirect to the Waters Library catalog. To view articles published by these titles, select an option to "View Online" and log in using your MyLeo credentials.

MIT Technology Review
"Founded at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1899, MIT Technology Review is a world-renowned, independent media company whose insight, analysis, reviews, interviews and live events explain the newest technologies and their commercial, social and political impacts."
IEEE Spectrum
"IEEE Spectrum Magazine, the flagship publication of the IEEE, explores the development, applications and implications of new technologies."

Trade Publications (sometimes called Trade Magazines or Trade Journals) are created with the intention of keeping members of a specific profession or industry informed about current trends, news, and development within the field. The articles in these publications are not considered scholarly, but are often written by members of the profession. Some trade publications also include ads for products related to the industry, job postings, and information about upcoming conferences.

Some of the links on this tab redirect to the Waters Library catalog rather than to databases. To view articles published by these titles, select an option to "View Online" and log in using your MyLeo credentials.

Computing Database
Over 350 full text titles from scholarly journals and trade publications with articles on product reviews, database design and management, e-commerce, technology management and more.

EDN - Voice of the Engineer
Electronic Design News (EDN) is a trade publication by AspenCore.
Machine Design
"Machine Design is the comprehensive technical resource for mechanical engineers providing the technical essentials of advanced design and manufacturing. Our content team, engineers who have worked in the trenches, provides in-depth, precise technical information on the full spectrum of products, markets and technologies important to this broad audience."

SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Environmental protection laws and regulations from the EPA. Search by topic or business sector, look up guidance, compliance, and enforcement, and report violations.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Regulatory information about food, drugs, medical devices, vaccines, animal and veterinary products, cosmetics, and tobacco products.
International Council for Harmonisation (ICH)
European regulations from the International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH).
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Workplace safety regulations by OSHA & the US Department of Labor. Contains links to rules, standards, and resources, as well as a place to file complaints.

Unless otherwise specified, all resources listed in this tab are created or provided by the United States government or the Texas state government.

DOE Science Cinema
"DOE ScienceCinema is a multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information, with video and audio files produced by DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). By using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from IBM Watson to allow users to quickly find video and audio files, DOE ScienceCinema delivers the precision searching already common in text-based databases. Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timestamp."
OTSI.gov
By the DOE (Department of Energy) OTSI (Office of Scientific and Technical Information), "OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 75 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites."
WorldWideScience
"WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) on behalf of the International Council of Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI), WorldWideScience.org allows the user to search multiple scientific sources from around the world with a single query. Multilingual translations capabilities exist for ten languages, enabling access to the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering. Much of the information accessed via WorldWideScience.org is freely available, in support of open science."

Materials Science & Engineering Database
Materials Science Collection is an interdisciplinary full-text and A&I collection to support researchers studying materials and materials-related concepts. Coverage crosses multiple specialties in materials science from engineering, nanoscience, construction, ceramics, and much more. Content includes scholarly journals, trade and industry titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and other sources of gray literature.

MatWeb: Material Property Data
"MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2025 3:52 PM
URL: https://etamu.libguides.com/engineering-technology
Print Page

Subjects: Engineering

Tags: engineering, science, technology

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type

Engineering & Technology

Google Scholar

Is there a resource you want to see included here?

Additional Resources

Databases: