Video available

Audio available

Open Access

Accessibility info link

TexShare resource

GLAM resource

Computer Science & Computer Information Systems

A guide to Computer Science & Computer Information Systems research at the Velma K. Waters Library.

Is there a resource you want to see included here?

We are always looking for ways to improve this guide and highlight resources that will be helpful to our students, faculty, and staff.

If you have resources to recommend, please complete our feedback survey and let us know!

Standards

"A standard is an agreed-upon way of doing something. In practice, it is a document that sets specific guidelines for the design, operation, manufacture, and use of nearly everything produced by mankind. There are standards to protect human health, safety, and the environment, and others to ensure that different products work compatibly together."

- American National Standards Institute (ANSI), "Standards 101"

Trying to identify and locate an unknown standard?

It can be difficult to locate a standard if you don't know its name, citation, or which organization issued it. The easiest way to solve this issue is to find a citation for a standard first and then try to locate the full text. Commercial standards vendors can be a useful tool for searching across multiple standards-issuing organizations at once to find a complete citation.

ANSI Webstore, the ordering and delivery system for the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
ISO Store, the commercial standards catalogue of the International Organization for Standardization.
Standards Store by Accuris (formerly called IHS).

Important Note: Commercial providers may offer certain select standards available for free, but in most cases, they will require purchase before granting access to the full text of a standard. Once you have located a standard in one of these services, search for the full text in a database that indexes its standards-issuing organization or contact a librarian for additional assistance.

Trying to find a known standard?

Use keywords or document numbers to search for standards in the following databases and standards search tools.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

What do I do if I cannot locate a standard on my own?

Contact a Research and Instruction librarian using Ask a Librarian and let us know what standards you are trying to find.

We can help you access standards within our collection or assist you in requesting a copy of a standard from an external institution.

Publicly Available Standards:

Some organizations make select standards available for public use. Please see individual listings for more information.

ANSI - Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Standards
"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options."
ESD - select standards only
EOS/ESD Association develops standards for static control and electrostatics. Select standards are available for complementary download through their online store.
ISO Publicly Available Standards
"In accordance with ISO/IEC JTC 1 and the ISO and IEC Councils, these International Standards are publicly available for Standardization purposes."
W3C
Standards by the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) are made freely accessible to all users.

Popular Titles: The following publications are popular magazines and news sources, not scholarly research journals. The content published in these sources is intended to inform general audiences of trends and current research in a particular field.

The links on this tab redirect to the Waters Library catalog. To view articles published by these titles, select an option to "View Online" and log in using your MyLeo credentials.

MIT Technology Review
"Founded at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1899, MIT Technology Review is a world-renowned, independent media company whose insight, analysis, reviews, interviews and live events explain the newest technologies and their commercial, social and political impacts."
IEEE Spectrum
"IEEE Spectrum Magazine, the flagship publication of the IEEE, explores the development, applications and implications of new technologies."

Trade Publications (sometimes called Trade Magazines or Trade Journals) are created with the intention of keeping members of a specific profession or industry informed about current trends, news, and development within the field. The articles in these publications are not considered scholarly, but are often written by members of the profession. Some trade publications also include ads for products related to the industry, job postings, and information about upcoming conferences.

Some of the links on this tab redirect to the Waters Library catalog rather than to databases. To view articles published by these titles, select an option to "View Online" and log in using your MyLeo credentials.

Computer Science (Gale OneFile)
Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database also includes periodicals and journals with information on computer-related product introductions and news and reviews.
Computing Database
Over 350 full text titles from scholarly journals and trade publications with articles on product reviews, database design and management, e-commerce, technology management and more.
SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

Unless otherwise specified, all resources listed in this tab are created or provided by the United States government or the Texas state government.

DOE Science Cinema
"DOE ScienceCinema is a multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information, with video and audio files produced by DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). By using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from IBM Watson to allow users to quickly find video and audio files, DOE ScienceCinema delivers the precision searching already common in text-based databases. Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timestamp."
NIST Computer Security Resource Center
"The Computer Security Resource Center (CSRC) facilitates broad sharing of information security tools and practices, provides a resource for information security standards and guidelines, and identifies key security web resources to support users in industry, government, and academia."
OTSI.gov
By the DOE (Department of Energy) OTSI (Office of Scientific and Technical Information), "OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 75 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites."
WorldWideScience
"WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) on behalf of the International Council of Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI), WorldWideScience.org allows the user to search multiple scientific sources from around the world with a single query. Multilingual translations capabilities exist for ten languages, enabling access to the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering. Much of the information accessed via WorldWideScience.org is freely available, in support of open science."

For more in-depth information about research methods, see the following research guides:

Scientific Research Basics
by Zephyr Rankin Last Updated Nov 21, 2025 44 views this year

Databases:

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Sage Campus
Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. The online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.
Access Note: You will need to create an account with your MyLeo email to use Sage Campus.
Sage Skills: Student Success
Sage Skills: Student Success empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond. With more than 1,100 topics across 10 comprehensive modules, this digital resource provides a flexible and engaging learning journey through interactive scenarios, self-assessments, downloadable exercises, videos, and more.

ACM - Association for Computing Machinery
"ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life‐long learning, career development, and professional networking."
IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
"IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities." Their Standards Association, IEEE SA, creates the standards for many fundamental technologies around the world, including Ethernet, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth.
IEEE Computer Society
"Engaging computer engineers, scientists, academia, and industry professionals from all areas of computing, the IEEE Computer Society (CS) sets the standard for the education and engagement that fuels continued global technological advancement. Through conferences, publications, and programs, and by bringing together computer science and engineering leaders at every phase of their career for dialogue, debate, and collaboration, IEEE CS empowers, shapes, and guides the future of not only its members, but the greater industry, enabling new opportunities to better serve our world."

Last Updated: Dec 11, 2025 2:12 PM
URL: https://etamu.libguides.com/computer-science
Print Page

Subjects: Computer Science

Tags: computer programming, computer science, information systems, science

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type