Utilizing CC Licensed Works

Collections

A Collection is a compilation of separate and independent works into a single project. They are organized as distinct separate objects without modification. Attribution and license information must be provided for each individual work in a collection. 

When creating a Collection, you can copyright only new contributions, the selection and arrangement of various works, original works such as a cover, an introduction or conclusion. The individual works gathered for a collection retain their separate copyright.  They are not yours to copyright. 

In the above image several photographs have been curated to make a poster collection. All the images, except for the image 'Winter Moon," which is a new work by the curator maintain their original CC License and those licenses are indicated under the photographs.  The image "Winter Moon," and the collection title can have a new distinct CC license.

CC License Collection Compatibility Chart

All CC Licenses allow licensed material to be included in collections such as anthologies, encyclopedias, and broadcasts. You may choose a license for the collection, however this does not change the license applicable to the original material. 

When you include CC-licensed content in a collection, you still must adhere to the license conditions governing you use of the material incorporated. For example, material under any of the CC NonCommercial Licenses cannot be used commercially. The table above indicates what type of CC Licensed works you may incorporate in collections licensed for commercial and noncommercial uses. 

Sources: (Links open in a new window)

This information has been adapted from "Unit 4.4: Remixing CC-Licensed Work" in Creative Commons Certificate for Educators, Academic Librarians, and GLAM by Creative Commons and is licensed under CC BY 4.0.

"If I create a collection that includes work offered under a CC license, which license(s) may I choose for the collection?" by Creative Commons is licensed under CC BY 4.0.