Open Educational Resources

General information about OER for faculty.

Finding OER

These are selected resources for finding OER materials below. There are a wide variety of resources available that can be used to convert a course to OER or affordable options. If you need assistance locating materials please contact Sarah Northam. All links open in a new window.

OERTX
OERTX is a public digital library of OER for higher education. Search for materials by subject, education level, and usage conditions. OERTX is modeled after OER Commons.
OER Commons
OER Commons provides a single access point to search for over 50,000 high-quality OER. Includes curated collections for Full University Courses and Open Textbooks.
GALILEO
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains over 350,000 records. It includes OER records by subject area. It is being developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
The Mason OER Metafinder
The Mason OER Metafinder searches across 21 different sources of OER.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Open Textbook Library
Browse 800 open textbooks by subject area.
OpenStax
OpenStax publishes peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks.
Pressbooks Directory
Pressbooks Directory provides an index of 4,819 books published across 136 Pressbooks networks.
American Institute of Mathematics Open Textbook Initiative
The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The Editorial Board maintains a list of Approved Textbooks.
BCcampus OpenEd
Collections of open textbooks created by faculty at institutions in British Columbia.
MILNE Open Textbooks
Catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

John Hopkins School of Public Health Open Courseware
Open materials used in courses taught at John Hopkins School of Public Health. Materials can be shared and adapted under the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. It includes materials from over 2000 courses.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some OER materials are paired with low cost textbooks in the library.
Open Yale Courses
Provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses at Yale University.

Community of Online Research Assignments (CORA)
CORA has multiple research assignments requiring students to engage with information resources in a critical or reflective way.
Data.gov
Data.gov is the federal government’s open data site.
Digital Public Library of America
Search engine for millions of digitized objects from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
OpenLearn
Open Learn is the home of free learning from The Open University in the United Kingdom. They commission and develop content that unites faculty and University priorities with areas of topical and general interest.
Smithsonian Open Access
Nearly three million digital items from the Smithsonian's 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
TEDEd
Part of the TEDTalk community, TEDEd has a library of videos and interactive lessons.

OER Starter Kit

All links open in a new window.

The OER Starter Kit was created to provide instructors with an introduction to the use and creations of OER. The section Finding OER is a valuable tool for learning how to discover different types of OER and evaluate it. The chapters in the Finding OER section are linked below.

The OER Starter Kit by Abbey K. Elder is licensed under a CC BY 4.0 license, except where otherwise noted.

"How Can I Find OER" by The Council of Chief State School Officers is licensed under a CC BY 4.0 License.

A-Z Databases

Find by Title

Find by Subject

Find by Type

Open Educational Resources

Evaluating OER

How Can I find OER?

Finding OER

OER Starter Kit